NASCAR lineup at Bristol: Starting order, pole for Bass Pro Shops Night Race playoff race after qualifying

NASCAR lineup at Bristol: Starting order, pole for Bass Pro Shops Night Race playoff race after qualifying

If you want to find excitement in the NASCAR Cup Series, look no further than a short track.

There are thrills, spills and everything in between when racers trade the open space of a superspeedway for the tight turns and close quarters of the half-mile Bristol Motor Speedway.

It’s an experience unlike any other in the sport. And with just one race left before the playoff field is cut from 16 drivers to 12, competitors have to show a willingness to go that extra mile (no pun intended) to cement their spot in the next round of the postseason.

It’s hard to look past short-track dynamos like Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson and Ryan Blaney in this year’s Bass Pro Shops Night Race. Hamlin and Larson have combined for six top-two finishes at the 0.533-mile track. And Blaney, despite never nabbing a win on the Bristol concrete, has led significant number of laps on it — 45 circuits last year and more than 100 on three other occasions.

MORE: Watch NASCAR playoff racing live with fuboTV (free trial)

With that, here’s everything you need to know about the starting lineup for Saturday’s race at Bristol Motor Speedway after Friday’s qualifying session.

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Bristol?

Aric Almirola, a non-playoff driver, took the pole for the Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway with a 14.946-second lap time in the final round of qualifying. He was 22 one-thousandths of a second faster than his Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Chase Briscoe, who qualified second.

This is Almirola’s first pole of the season and the fourth of his career.

Final group results

Finish Driver Lap time (sec.)
1. Aric Almirola 14.946
2. Chase Briscoe 14.968
3. Alex Bowman 14.970
4. Denny Hamlin 14.998
5. Kyle Larson 15.001
6. Ryan Blaney 15.008
7. Kevin Harvick 15.030
8. Christopher Bell 15.057
9. Austin Cindric 15.078
10. Brad Keselowski 15.083

Starting lineup for Bristol race

Stewart-Haas Racing will lead the 36-car field to green in the Bass Pro Shops Night Race at Bristol, the final race of the Round of 16. Teammates Aric Almirola and Chase Briscoe qualified 1-2 for the 500-lap race. Briscoe needed a big qualifying effort; he came into the week nine points below the Round of 12 cut line.

Stewart-Haas’ Kevin Harvick qualified seventh. Harvick is last in the playoff standings, 35 points out of the 12th spot. 

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
2 Chase Briscoe (P) 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
3 Alex Bowman (P) 48 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Denny Hamlin (P) 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Kyle Larson (P) 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Ryan Blaney (P) 12 Team Penske
7 Kevin Harvick (P) 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
8 Christopher Bell (P) 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Austin Cindric (P) 2 Team Penske
10 Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
11 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
12 Ross Chastain (P) 1 Trackhouse Racing
13 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
14 Bubba Wallace 45 23XI Racing
15 Joey Logano (P) 22 Team Penske
16 William Byron (P) 24 Hendrick Motorsports
17 Tyler Reddick (P) 8 Richard Childress Racing
18 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
19 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
20 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
21 Kyle Busch (P) 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
22 Martin Truex Jr.  19 Joe Gibbs Racing
23 Chase Elliott (P) 9 Hendrick Motorsports
24 Erik Jones 43 Petty GMS Motorsports
25 Ty Gibbs 23 23XI Racing
26 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
27 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
28 Austin Dillon (P) 3 Richard Childress Racing
29 Daniel Suarez (P) 99 Trackhouse Racing
30 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
31 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
32 Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
33 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
34 Ty Dillon 42 Petty GMS Motorsports
35 Landon Cassill 77 Spire Motorsports
36 JJ Yeley 15 Rick Ware Racing

(P) Playoff driver.