Women's World Cup draw live 2023: Full group results, teams, match schedule, fixtures revealed from New Zealand

Women's World Cup draw live 2023: Full group results, teams, match schedule, fixtures revealed from New Zealand

The 2023 Women’s World Cup draw is set to take place in Auckland on Saturday, October 22. 

While three spots remain up for grabs, 29 teams have already qualified for the tournament which will take place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20-August 20, 2023.

For the first time in Women’s World Cup history, eight groups will be formed for the tournament with only the top-two sides from each qualifying for the knockout stages. 

The Sporting News will be following the draw live from Auckland and providing a full group breakdown below. 

MORE: Complete 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup schedule

Women’s World Cup groups 2023

The below table will be updated as teams are placed into each group.

Co-hosts Australia and New Zealand have been automatically placed in the first two groups.

Group AA1: New ZealandA2:TBC A3:TBCA4:TBC
Group BB1: AustraliaB2:TBCB3:TBCB4:TBC

MORE: When does the 2023 Women’s World Cup start? | New World Cup mascot revealed

Women’s World Cup draw live updates, highlights from New Zealand

(All times AEDT)

6:10 p.m.: Quick draw explainer being played before it actually starts. Just minutes to go now.  

6:05 p.m.: Maia Jackman, Cate Campbell, Gilberto Silva, Zoi Sadowski-Synnott, Julie Dolan, Ian Wright, Geremi and Alexi Lalas are all brought out to help conduct the draw. 

6:00 p.m.: The balls and bowls are now out on stage…

5:57 p.m.: Looks like one final video is being shown before the actual draw begins. Not too long now! 

5:55 p.m.: A rather moving video is played highlighting the journeys of past female footballers turned coaches before Jill Ellis fittingly brings out the trophy on stage.

5:45 p.m.: FIFA president Gainni Infantino is up speaking now. Starts by showing off his scope of languages and suggests they’re hoping some two billion viewers will tune into the 2023 Women’s World Cup.  

5:40 p.m.: New Zealand’s prime minister Jacinda Ardern now takes the stage to welcome everyone to the draw. 

5:35 p.m.: Indigenous performances from both countries kickoff the draw with a video package then also played highlighting each of cities set to host matches during the tournament.

5:30 p.m.: Here we go! The draw ceremony has started in Auckland. We’ll be updating the above group table regularly and confirming here as teams from each pot are placed in their groups.

5:15 p.m.: We’ve put together a complete 2023 Women’s World Cup schedule which will be updated as soon as the draw is completed. This will run through when and where each team will play during the tournament. 

5:05 p.m.: The balls for tonight’s draw have two distinct patterns which pay tribute to both Australia and New Zealand, who will co-host the tournament in 2023. 

4:45 p.m.: Less than 45 minutes now until the draw gets underway! USWNT legend Carli Lloyd will be doing the honours this evening with CNN sports anchor Amanda Davies assisting the two-time Women’s World Cup winner. 

4:10 p.m.: Best possible draw for Australia? Manager Tony Gustavsson is keeping that to himself.

3:45 p.m.: FIFA’s president immersing himself in the local culture in New Zealand.

3:15 p.m.: In this expanded World Cup, there are five nations that will be participating for the first time in the history of their women’s program.

2:30 p.m.: Here’s all you need to know about how the draw works:

1:00 p.m.: Ever wondered how a World Cup draw comes together? FIFA have provided a behind-the-scenes glimpse at today’s preparations below.

10:45 a.m.: The countdown is well and truly on to the draw taking place. Along with determining the eight groups, the draw will also work out who will play New Zealand in the opening game of the tournament.

6:00 a.m.: Hello and welcome to The Sporting News live coverage of the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw. We’ll know the groups for the tournament in about 12 hours time and will be providing updates leading up to and during the draw. As we await the official draw, take a look at our dream group stage scenario for the tournament

How to watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup draw

The Women’s World Cup draw will be televised globally via on FIFA’s official website and YouTube channel as previous World Cup draws have been.

Select countries will also provide their own broadcasts and live streams of the event. 

 DateTimeTV channelStreaming
AustraliaSat, Oct. 225:30 p.m. 
— Optus Sport
USASat, Oct. 222:30 a.m.
FS1 fuboTV, Fox Sports App,
CanadaSat, Oct. 222:30 a.m.
TSN 1, TSN 3TSN GO, TSN Direct, 
UKSat, Oct. 227:30 a.m.
BBC iPlayer,
New ZealandSat, Oct. 227:30 p.m.
IndiaSat, Oct. 2212:00 p.m.
MalaysiaSat, Oct. 223:30 p.m.
SingaporeSat, Oct. 223:30 p.m.

Pots for Women’s World Cup draw 2023

The pots for the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw were decided on October 13, 2022 based upon the latest FIFA rankings. 

As co-hosts Australia and New Zealand were automatically placed in Pot 1, with the highest-ranked qualifying teams also joining them in that section of the draw.

Remaining sides were placed in pots in descending order based on their ranking. 

The undecided playoff winners were automatically put in Pot 4 as per the FIFA rules. 

Pot 1Pot 2Pot 3Pot 4
New Zealand (#22)Canada (#7)Denmark (#18)Nigeria (#45)
Australia (#13)Netherlands (#8)Switzerland (#21)Philippines (#53)
United States (#1)Brazil (#9)Rep. of Ireland (#24)South Africa (#54)
Sweden (#2)Japan (#11)Colombia (#27)Morocco (#76)
Germany (#3)Norway (#12)Argentina (#29)Zambia (#81)
England (#4)Italy (#14)Vietnam (#34)Playoff Group A winner
France (#5)China (#15)Costa Rica (#37)Playoff Group B winner
Spain (#6)South Korea (#17)Jamaica (#43)Playoff Group C winner

# denotes FIFA ranking at the time of the draw. 

When are the final Women’s World Cup spots decided?

A playoff tournament consisting of 10 teams will see the last three nations book their place at the 2023 Women’s World Cup. 

The playoff tournament will be played from February 17-23, 2023 in New Zealand and will involve three groups with the winner of each group advancing to the Women’s World Cup.

Here are the teams set to participate in the playoffs: 

  • Asia (AFC): Chinese Taipei, Thailand 
  • Africa (CAF): Cameroon, Senegal
  • North America (CONCACAF): Haiti, Panama
  • South America (CONMEBOL): Chile, Paraguay
  • Oceania (OFC): Papua New Guinea
  • Europe (UEFA): Portugal